top of page
  • Pastor Joe

Five More Points

Updated: Aug 16, 2022

I was asked a few weeks ago: “What does it mean to be a Five Point Calvinist Church?” In answer to that question, we looked at the Five Points of Calvinism in last week’s bulletin. However, they are not the only “Five” we emphasize. There are also what is known as the

5 Solas of the Reformation (“solas,” meaning, “alones”). They are five principles that are foundational to the doctrine of salvation found in the Bible.

Ø Sola Scriptura,

or “Scripture alone,” maintains that the Bible is the highest source of authority in a Christian’s life, the final court of appeal for every moral, ethical or practical decision. (2 Timothy 3:16)

Ø Sola Fide,

or “faith alone,” affirms that justification—being made right with God—comes only through faith in Jesus. (Romans 3:28)

Ø Sola gratia,

or “grace alone,” says sinners are saved as an unearned gift of God’s grace, “not as a result of works, so that no one may boast” (Ephesians 2:8–9).

Ø Solus Christus

or “Christ alone,” emphasizes the exclusivity of Jesus’ role in salvation: “No one comes to the Father except through me” (John 14:6).

Ø And Soli Deo Gloria,

or “to the glory of God alone,” says that the purpose of creation, salvation, and everything—including our goal as Christians—is the glory of God, “that God may be all in all” (1 Corinthians 15:28).

20 views0 comments


bottom of page